States with Exemption-Free (Universal Licensure) Relative to the Employment of Speech-Language Pathologists and/or Audiologist

(Note:  Most states exempt physicians, students, nurses, and hearing aid fitters.  The following is a list of states that require licensure for speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists regardless of job setting.)
  • Arizona
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan*
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire (Audiology Only)
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina (Effective July 1, 2011)
  • Ohio
  • South Dakota (Regulates Audiology Only)
  • Texas
  • Vermont
*Michigan requires an audiology license for school-based practice but exempts individuals in the Office of Community Health as well as those involved in teaching and research.

Note:  Oklahoma does not require licensure for school-based practice unless billing for Medicaid.

© NCSB Business Office
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software